THE REPUBLIC OF UGANDA THE ELECTORAL COMMISSION

 Telephone:
 +256-41-337500/337508-11

 Fax:
 +256-31-262207/41-337595/6

 E-mail:
 secretary@ec.or.ug/info@ec.or.ug



Plot 1-3 & 5, 7th Street Industrial Area P. O. Box 22678 Kampala, Uganda Website: www.ec.or.ug

Date: 10th January 2025

Press Release

Display of Lists of Demarcated Local Government Council Electoral Areas for the 2025/2026 General Elections, 13th - 20th January 2025

In preparation for the 2025/2026 General Elections, the Electoral Commission conducted an exercise from $6^{th} - 16^{th}$ August 2024, to demarcate electoral areas for representation at Local Governments in the cities and districts of Uganda.

The demarcation of Local Government Council electoral areas is the process of drawing and defining the boundaries of areas of representation for Directly-elected Councilors and Women Councilors forming $\frac{1}{3}$ of Local Government Councils.

The exercise aimed at ensuring that each basic unit of representation (Sub-county, Town, Division, Parish/Ward) is represented in the respective Local Government by at least one person, hence fair and effective representation in Local Governments.

1 Display of Lists of the Demarcated Local Government Council Electoral Areas

The Electoral Commission has finalized processing the returns from the demarcation exercise and will display the lists of the demarcated areas from 13th January 2025 to 20th January 2025.

The purpose of the display exercise is to:

- a. Ensure that the boundaries of every electoral area are clearly defined and that all administrative units are fairly represented;
- b. Enable the Commission to re-confirm the administrative units and hence ensure the accuracy of the final list of administrative units in Uganda; and,
- c. Promote transparency and fairness in the electoral process.

2 Procedure for the Display of lists of demarcated electoral areas

The display of the lists of demarcated electoral areas shall be done by the District/City Returning Officers and the respective Sub-County Supervisors as follows:

a. The District Returning Officer shall oversee the display of lists of electoral area boundaries at the District/City level.

The demarcated electoral areas at this level include:

- i. District/City Directly Elected Councilors;
- ii. District/City Woman Councilors;

- b. The display of lists of electoral areas for the Divisions of Kampala City and Wakiso District shall be managed by the respective Assistant Election Administrators in charge of the Divisions;
- c. The Sub County Supervisors in liaison with their respective District Returning Officers, shall oversee the display of lists of demarcated electoral areas at the Municipality/City Division and Sub-county/Town/Municipal Division levels.

The demarcated electoral areas at this level include:

- i. Municipality/City Division Directly Elected Councilors
- ii. Municipality/City Division Woman Councilors
- iii. Sub-county/Town/Municipal Division Elected Councilors
- iv. Sub-county/Town/Municipal Division Woman Councilors
- d. The above district/city and sub-county election officials shall display all the above lists by pinning them on public notice boards to allow stakeholders to view the demarcated electoral areas within their District or City, Municipality/City Division and Sub-county/Town/Municipal Division;
- e. Stakeholders can also access and view the lists of the demarcated electoral areas by visiting the Electoral Commission website: <u>www.ec.or.ug</u>
- f. In the event of objections, affected stakeholders shall submit a formal written complaint to the District Returning Officer, clearly outlining the reasons for their objection by filling out the Demarcation Complaints Form (form DCF).

5. Resolution of demarcation complaints

During the display exercise, stakeholders may raise complaints relating to the demarcation, to the District Demarcation Complaints Resolution Team, which comprises the following persons:

- i. The District Returning Officer (Chairperson for the Committee);
- ii. The Assistant District Administrator (Secretary for the Committee);
- iii. The Chief Administrative Officer;
- iv. The District Planner; and
- v. Any other Officer the Committee may co-opt who shall not be a political leader.

The District/City Team shall sit and determine the complaints raised.

In case, the complainant is dissatisfied with the decisions of the demarcation committee, he/she will appeal to the Chairperson, Electoral Commission.

The Electoral Commission appeals to all stakeholders in the electoral process to participate in this display exercise, following the guidelines that will be issued for the exercise.

Justice Byabakama Mugenyi Simon Chairperson, Electoral Commission