Justice Simon Mugenyi Byabakama



Justice Simon Mugenyi Byabakama is the Chairperson of the Commission.

Justice Byabakama has over 35 years experience in Legal Practice and Administration of Justice. He holds a Bachelor of Law Degree (Makerere University, 1980) and a Diploma in Legal Practice (Law Development Center, 1980).

In 1992, he was appointed a principal State Attorney, and later promoted to Senior Principal State Attorney at the Directorate of Public Prosecution (DPP) headquarters in 1996. He was elevated to the rank of Deputy Director of Public Prosecution, and appointed High Court Judge in May 2008.

Justice Byabakama served as resident Judge in Lira, Soroti and Masindi districts until his appointment to the Court of Appeal/Constitutional Court on promotion in October 2015.

In November 2016, Justice Byabakama was appointed Chairperson of the Electoral Commission for a seven (7) year term.

Hajjat Aisha Lubega

Deputy Chairperson


Hajjat Aisha Lubega is the Deputy Chairperson of the Electoral Commission and is a teacher by profession. She holds a Master in Education (Administration and Planning) from Makerere University, a Post Graduate Diploma in Public Administration from the Institute of Public Administration (renamed Uganda Management Institute now) and a Bachelors of Arts (B.A) degree and a concurrent Diploma in Education from Makerere University.

Hajjat Aisha Lubega is an experienced administrator known for her commitment to Gender Equality and Empowerment of Women. She was the Head Teacher at Nabisunsa Girls Secondary School before joining Electoral Commission on 17TH January 2017.

Recognized as a visionary leader with demonstrated success in school administration, Hajjat Aisha Lubega has genuine interest in students’ cognitive, social and emotional growth.

She is also a versatile, results-oriented person who values culture that encourages continuous improvement for humanity of all ages and is equipped with a vast experience in mentoring and coaching people for improved performance in different fields.


January 2017 to-date, Deputy Chairperson, the Uganda Electoral Commission

September 1992 to January 17th 2017, Headmistress, Nabisunsa Girls School

September 1987 to 1992, Deputy Headmistress, Nabisunsa Girl’s School.

1986 to 1987:  English literature teacher, Nabisunsa Girl’s School

1981 to 1986:  Head of the English department, Masaka Sec. School

Peter Emorut



Peter Emorut is a member of the Electoral Commission.

Commissioner Emorut is a professional teacher and administrator. He holds a Masters of Education (Planning and Administration) from  Uganda Christian University, a Bachelor’s Degree in Education from Kyambogo University and a Diploma in Teacher Education.

Commissioner Emorut spent most of his career training school teachers and managing educational institutions. Before joining the Electoral Commission in January 2017, Emorut was a senior tutor and Deputy Principal at Kabwangasi Primary Teachers’ Training College in Paliisa district.

Justine Ahabwe Mugabi



Justine Ahabwe Mugabi is a member of the Electoral Commission.

Commissioner Mugabi is a teacher by profession and holds a Bachelors degree in English Language and Literature from Makerere University, Kampala and a diploma in Secondary Education from the National Teachers’ College, Kabale. She has 18 years of experience in teaching and school administration. Commissioner Justine Ahabwe Mugabi has also attained a number of certificates in Election Management and Observation.

She was first appointed member of the Electoral Commission in 2009. In November 2016, she was reappointed to a second (seven-year) term.

Stephen Tashobya



Stephen Tashobya is a member of the Electoral Commission.

Commissioner Tashobya is a lawyer by profession. He also holds an Masters of Business Administration(MBA) from the University of Wales, UK , a Post Graduate Diploma in Legal Practice from the Law Development Centre and  a Bachelor of Laws degree from Makerere University, Kampala. He  is also a chartered secretary from the Institute of Chartered Secretaries and Administrators (ICSA).

Commissioner Tashobya served in Public Service as a state attorney in the Ministry of Justice and   in the Private Sector  as the Chief Executive Officer at  Uganda Corporattive  Transport  before  crossing to serve in the 8th (2006-2011) and 9th Parliament (2011-2016) as MP for Kajara County in Ntungamo District.  While in parliament , he was the Chairperson of the Committee on Legal and Parliamentary Affairs, which is mandated by Parliament to oversee the activities and programmes of various government ministries, departments and agencies, including the Electoral Commission.

Sebaggala Mustapha Kigozi



Sebaggala Mustapha Kigozi is a member of the Electoral Commission.

Commissioner Sebaggala is a teacher by profession. He has a Masters Degree in Education Management and Administration, Masters in Public Administration, a Bachelor’s Degree in Education from Makerere University and a Diploma in Education. He was the Head-Teacher of Kibuli Demonstration School Kampala, for 17years and served as the Chairperson of the National Council for Higher Education for over two years.

Commissioner Sebaggala moved into the private sector where he served as the Executive Director of Uganda Manufacturers Association (UMA) for 7years. He has also served on several Boards in different capacities which include Technical Innovation Industrial Development Board Makerere University (Chairperson), Chairperson UBA Board among several others.

Nathaline Etomaru



Nathaline Etomaru is a member of the Electoral Commission.

Commissioner Etomaru is a teacher by profession. She holds a masters degree in development studies, Bachelors degree in Development Studies  and a diploma in secondary education . She is currently pursuing post-graduate studies in public administration.

Commissioner Etomaru has deep passion in social work and education, and has championed several programmes to influence development and transform communities throughout the West Nile region of Uganda. She joins the Electoral Commission with broad experience in advocacy for good governance to create empowered communities in Uganda.