EC Sets Dates for Local Gov't Councils By-elections

The Electoral Commission has approved the programme for conducting by-elections to fill vacancies which exist in Local Government Councils in at least one hundred and ten (110) districts across the country.
The categories of vacancies to be filled during these by-elections in the above districts include; the District Chairperson for Kayunga; Chairpersons at Sub County level, as well as Councillors at the District and Sub County, including Councillors representing Special Interest Groups(SIGs). 

The by-election programme will commence with an update of the National Voters’ Register from 22nd to 26th October 2021 at the parish/ward level in each of the affected electoral areas.

The Commission has appointed Tuesday 26th October 2021 as the cut-off date for registration of voters and transfer of voting location in the above affected areas. The display of the National Voters’ Register will be conducted from 8th to 17th November 2021, at all polling stations in the affected Local Government electoral areas.

The nomination of candidates will be conducted on Friday 29th and Saturday 30th November 2021 at the respective district headquarters. Candidates’ campaign meetings will be conducted for a period of thirteen (13) days, that is, from Thursday 2nd to 14th December 2021.

Polling and tallying of results for elections of Councillors representing Special Interest Groups (SIGs) shall take place on Wednesday 15th December 2021. Meanwhile polling for the District Chairperson, Kayunga, and other Local Government Councils shall take place on Thursday 16th December 2021, at all polling stations in the affected electoral areas. 

Wednesday, October 6, 2021