Programme for By-election of Member of Parliament for Toroma County

The Electoral Commission has approved the programme for by-election of Member of Parliament for Toroma County, Katakwi District, as follows:

No. Activities Period
1. Update of the National Voters’ Register 6th – 10th April 2017
2. Cut Off date for registration of voters and transfer of voting location in Toroma County 10th April 2017
3. Recruitment of officials to conduct Display of the Voters’ Register 12th- 13th April 2017
4. Display of lists of recruited Display officials at the Office of the District Returning Officer and sub county headquarters 13th – 18th April 2017
5. Consultative Meeting with stakeholders 4th April 2017


Training of Display Officers, VLS Officials, Supervisors and issuance of appointment letters

22nd April 2017


Display of Voter’s Registers at Polling Stations in Toroma

24th April - 5th May


Display of Parish Tribunal Recommendations for deletion from or inclusion on the Voters’ Register at the parish headquarters

8th May - 15th May 2017


Nomination of candidates at Katakwi District Headquarters

25th – 26th April 2017


Period for inspection of candidates’ nomination papers and lodging of complaints

25th – 30th April 2017


Returning Officer’s Meeting with candidates to harmonize campaign programmes and formation of Liaison Committees

27th April 2017



27th April - 16th May


Recruitment of polling day officials (includes written interview)

28th April - 2nd May 2017


Production and issuance of accreditation tags to Political Parties and Organisations and accredited observers

27th April – 17th May 2017


Display of names of polling day officials for inspection at Office of the Returning Officer and Sub-county Headquarters

3rd – 15th May 2017


Issuance of Voter Location Slips (VLS) by Parish Supervisors

15th – 17th May 2017


Training at of Polling officials, Tally Clerks, Candidates’ agents and issuance of appointment letters

15th – 16th May 2017


Polling Day and Tallying of results

18th May 2017

The Electoral Commission calls on all stakeholders in Toroma County to participate in the above activities in accordance with the guidelines for the by-election.

Hon. Justice Byabakama Mugenyi Simon
Chairperson, Electoral Commission

Mens Flynit Trainers

Saturday, April 1, 2017