Press Release Summary Programme for By-election of LC V Chairperson, Tororo

The Electoral Commission has approved the programme for by-election of District Chairperson for Tororo District, as follows:

No. Activities Period
1. Update of the National Voters’ Register 5th – 9th May 2017
2. Cut Off date for registration of voters and transfer of voting location in Tororo District 9th May 2017
3. Recruitment of officials to conduct Display of the Voters’ Register 15 - 16th May 2017


Display of lists of recruited Display officials at the Office of the District Returning Officer and sub county headquarters

16th – 21st May 2017


Consultative Meeting with stakeholders

3rd May 2017


Training of Display Officers, VLS Officials, Supervisors and issuance of appointment letters

20th – 21st May 2017


Display of Voter’s Registers at Polling Stations in Tororo

22nd May – 2nd June


Display of Parish Tribunal Recommendations for deletion from or inclusion on the Voters’ Register at the parish headquarters

5th – 12th June 2017


Nomination of candidates at Tororo District Headquarters

24th – 25th May 2017


Period for inspection of candidates’ nomination papers and lodging of complaints

24th – 30th May 2017


Returning Officer’s Meeting with candidates to harmonize campaign programmes and formation of Liaison Committees

26th May 2017



29th May – 27th June


Recruitment of polling day officials (includes written interview)

31st May – 1st June 2017


Production and issuance of accreditation tags to Political Parties and Organisations and accredited observers

26th May 26th June 2017


Display of names of polling day officials for inspection at Office of the Returning Officer and Sub-county Headquarters

31st May – 12th June


Issuance of Voter Location Slips (VLS) by Parish Supervisors

21st – 28th June 2017


Training of Polling officials, Tally Clerks, Candidates’ agents and issuance of appointment letters

26th – 27th June 2017


Polling Day and Tallying of results

29th June 2017


The Electoral Commission calls on all stakeholders in Tororo District to participate in the above activities in accordance

with the guidelines for the by-election.


Hon. Justice Byabakama Mugenyi Simon

Chairperson, Electoral Commission


Nike Air Jordan Retro 1 Red Black White - Buy Air Jordan 1 Retro (white / black / varsity red), Price: $60.85 - Air Jordan Shoes

Wednesday, April 26, 2017